top of page


As the advertising and marketing industry increasingly looks to the talent and craft of storytelling in the Short Film sector, we felt this crossover could be better accommodated by adding Branded Content to this category. Our 2021 Jury panel now represents this union bringing together a panel of creatives from the production and advertising industry and adds another level of evaluation to the judging process. 


This year we have merged Branded Content into our Short Film Section.

We appreciate that many short films are made with excruciatingly low budgets so we have included craft categories to celebrate those individuals whose efforts may otherwise go unacknowledged. Your work will be seen by a jury comprising of some of the world’s TOP commissioners of short form content (important, as you want to sell yourself as well as your work). Through our awards and their endorsement of your work, you’ll ensure your creation gets the worldwide publicity is deserves. With the increase in demand for short form content created by IPTV the The Shark Awards will provide a great exposure opportunity for makers of short films.

By promoting excellence to the hottest ad agencies and production companies on the planet, the Shark Awards provide a wonderful opportunity to get your work under the noses of those important decision makers who are always looking for the next best thing.

Short Film Categories

  • Best Short Film under 25 mins

  • Best Short Film under 15 mins

  • Best Short Film under 10 mins

  • Best Short Film under 5 mins

  • Best Animated Short

  • Best Documentary Short

  • Best Irish Short Film

  • Best Acting Performance

  • Best Animation

  • Best Cinematography

  • Best Direction

  • Best Writing

  • Best Editing

  • Best Original Music

  • Best Production Design

Branded Content Categories

  • Best Doumentary under 5 mins

  • Best Doumentary over 5 mins

  • Best Fiction under 5 mins

  • Best Fiction over 5 mins

  • Best Filmed Brand Experience/Stunts & Events/TV Shows etc under 5 mins

  • Best Filmed Brand Experience/Stunts & Events/TV Shows etc over 5 mins

2021 Jurors

The Sharks Short Film & Branded Content Awards has now launched final jury is announced. 


New from this year, Branded Content has been moved from the Advertising Awards into Short Film in recognition of the increasing blurred lines between advertising and short films. The trend by an increasing number of brands engaging their audiences using short film has grown exponentially, and along with excellent storytelling and superior levels of production and craft,  Branded Content has been elevated into the spotlight of not only the creative industry, but marketing minds too.  


The jury consists of a stellar collection of creators and craftspeople from across the creative community, and the awards are pleased to welcome Sarah Clift (writer/director), Jen Spiers (ECD Rothco), Des Creedon (ECD TBWA Dublin), Greta Wynn Davies (EP VCCP Kin), Michael Creagh (writer/director), Siobhan Murphy (EP & MD Merman), Polly du Plessis (EP Rattling Stick), Charles Crisp (Head of Production T&Partnership) and Sarah Leccacorvi (Head of Content Havas Entertainment).


The new Branded Content categories award for best documentary, fiction, and experiences/stunts/events, all over and under 5 mins.


In Short Film, the iconic Shark head trophy to the very best short films under 25, 15, 10 and 5 minutes; the best in animation and documentary shorts; plus acting performance, cinematography, direction, editing, writing, original music and production design.

2021 Grand Prix

Branded Content Grand Prix

TBWA\Chiat\Day NY
Family Equality
"Love, Lawyers & the Government''

Short Film Grand Prix

Best Short Film Under 5 mins

2021 Gold & Shortlist

Behrman Film Co.


Grayscale Productions ltd

David Dearlove

Gavin Fitzgerald



You Are Here

Ciaran Hickey Film

Outer Limits Post Production

Zulu Alpha Kilo

Boldly Creative Agency Inc.


Final Cut

Intermission Film

Kode Media

Armoury - GRAND PRIX


Snapper Films

No Dog Films

The Corner Shop

Rogue Films Limited


Joe Worters Music

Alfie Barker

Bold Puppy

Niccolo Montanari

McCann Bristol

Whim Films

Sam McGrath

Dadbod films

Bold Puppy

Human Error

Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg 

Valiant Pictures

Miguel Angel Vinas

Stitch Editing

At The Sharks we do not operate a 'best in show' principle. The jury reserves the right not to make any award in any category if the creative standard has not been met (jury's discretion). Therefore It is possible for a category to have films shortlisted but no Gold awarded.

bottom of page